Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations
Election news from across Utah's statewide and national races in 2020.

Salt Lake County Mayor Jenny Wilson Set For Re-election As Opponent Concedes

Photo of Jenny Wilson.
KUER File Photo
Salt Lake County Mayor Jenny Wilson will likely retain office after her opponent, Republican Riverton Mayor Trent Staggs conceded.

Democratic Salt Lake County Mayor Jenny Wilson will likely remain in office after her Republican challenger Riverton Mayor Trent Staggs conceded the race Thursday evening.

Wilson has garnered 54.55% of the vote, while Staggs has 42.62%.

“It’s an honor to serve the people of Salt Lake County and I look forward to seeing what we can accomplish together over these next four years,” Wilson tweeted Thursday evening.

“The public saw how prepared Salt Lake County was with us coming together very quickly to organize around the pandemic,” Wilson said on election night. “We did a great job — all of our teams getting aid out to the community. We continue to battle the health crisis that we are in right now at this moment in time. And I think that resonated with the voters.”

Wilson served on the County Council for 10 years before she was elected to the Mayor’s office in January 2019. The Salt Lake County Democratic Party’s Central Committee picked her in a special election to replace former mayor Ben McAdams who was elected to represent Utah’s 4th Congressional District.

Staggs was a councilmember in Riverton for four years and won the city’s mayoral seat in 2017. Before he got into politics, Staggs was a vice president at a nutritional supplement company.

“I’m incredibly proud of the race we ran and the phenomenal effort of my team, donors, and supporters,” Staggs wrote in a Facebook post Thursday evening. “I’ll continue working hard for Riverton and the betterment of our great county and state. Thank you for this amazing opportunity.”

Updated: November 5, 2020 at 7:23 PM MST
Sonja Hutson is a politics and government reporter at KUER.
KUER is listener-supported public radio. Support this work by making a donation today.