Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations
Updates via NPR: Trump says he was shot in the ear at rally, with 1 spectator dead and 2 others injured

Governor Appoints Six Members to New Prison Relocation and Development Authority

Governor Gary Herbert appointed six members to the newly formed Prison Relocation and Development Authority today. The group is tasked with examining the potential of moving the state prison that is currently located in Draper.

The governor’s appointees come from both the public and private sector. The list includes a member of the Utah Board of Pardons and Parole, a Third District Court Judge, and a former commissioner of the Utah Division of Real Estate. Ally Isom, Governor Herbert’s Deputy Director of Communications, says the governor chose candidates he believes would be the most objective.

“Each of these individuals has a wealth of experience in their own arena," Isom says. "Together, the synergies that are created by having complimentary viewpoints are really beneficial to the process. The Governor wants an open and a transparent process that will benefit the taxpayers of Utah.”

Salt Lake County Mayor Ben McAdams is also one of the Governor’s six appointees. He says his main focus will be protecting the taxpayers that he represents.

“You know if a compelling case can be made that it’s in our financial best interest to move it then that’s a decision I would support," McAdams says. "But, if it’s not in the best interest of the taxpayer than we should keep the prison where it is.”

The state legislature has already appointed Utah State Senators Stephen Urquhart and Jerry Stevenson, and Representatives Eric Hutchings and Brad Wilson to PRADA. The final member will be appointed by Draper City. They are required to hold their first meeting no later than June 15.

Full List of Appointees:

Lane Summerhays – Chair of the Board, Advantage Workers Compensation Insurance Company; Board Member of Workers Compensation Fund and Continental Bank; Changing the Odds Founding Council of the United Way; and Capitol Campaign Guadalupe School

S. Camille Anthony – Associate Director, Office of Special Projects, Center for Homeland Defense & Security; Pro Tempore Member of the Utah Board of Pardons & Parole; Chair of the Utah Substance Abuse Advisory Council

Dave Luna – President, MortgageEducators and Compliance; Founder/Board Member, Honoring Heroes Foundation; former Commissioner, Utah Division of Real Estate; past Chair, Hispanic Advisory Council

Judith Atherton – Third District Court Judge; Member of the Utah Commission on Criminal and Juvenile Justice

Ben McAdams – Salt Lake County Mayor

Leland Pollack – Garfield County Commissioner

KUER is listener-supported public radio. Support this work by making a donation today.