Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
Politics & Government

5 Utah Counties Initiate HB 156 Election-Day Voter Registration


Voters in five counties in Utah are able to register at their polling locations today under a pilot program.

Salt Lake County is one of the five that applied for the Election-Day Voter Registration Pilot Project through the Lieutenant Governor’s Office. Sherrie Swensen is the County Clerk.

“When our official results are presented to the board of canvassers on November 18th, their ballot will count the same as any other ballot. So it’s exciting that we have this opportunity to do election-day registration that was allowed and passed by the legislature,” says Swensen.

She says basic documentation is required.

“They have to show ID and proof of residency but then we will be able to count that ballot.”

Democratic Representative Rebecca Chavez-Houck of Salt Lake County co-sponsored the legislation with State Republican Senator Deidre Henderson of Utah County.   Chavez-Houck says she’s very excited about this project that took nearly five years to pass. So far, Weber, Davis, Sanpete and Kane Counties are the only other counties to have applied to be part of the pilot project although any county is eligible. HB 156 was approved to run through 2017.

KUER is listener-supported public radio. Support this work by making a donation today.