Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Utah Republican Party State Convention Results Roll In

Photo of a man in a blue suit in front of two flags
Sonja Hutson / KUER
Utah GOP Chair Derek Brown announces results from the party’s state convention Saturday night on Facebook Live.";

Updated 12:24 a.m. 4/26/20


The Utah Republican Party hosted a virtual state convention Saturday to pick their nominees for the June primary. People running for office also had a chance to qualify for the ballot by collecting signatures. Candidates pre-recorded their speeches and the party posted them to its website earlier this week. Delegates voted using an app called Voatz, or called in their votes if they had technical problems. Roughly 93% of delegates voted, according to Utah GOP Chair Derek Brown. 

“The turnout has been phenomenal,” Brown said. “This shows the resiliency of the system that we have: the caucus process, our convention, and also an amazing group of volunteers.”

The party began reporting results just after 10 p.m. Saturday. Delegates nominated Lt. Gov. Spencer Cox and former Utah House Speaker Greg Hughes for governor. The two of them will be joined on the ballot by former Governor Jon Huntsman and former Utah GOP Chair Thomas Wright, who earned a spot by collecting more than 28,000 signatures.


Three members of the state legislature were forced into primaries during Saturday’s state convention: Sen. Curt Bramble, R-Provo, Sen. Lyle Hillyard, R-Logan, Rep. Brad Last, R-Hurricane. Utah Attorney General Sean Reyes will also face a challenger in the primary. 




  • Spencer Cox (nominee): 52%

  • Greg Hughes (nominee): 42%

Attorney General: 

  • Sean Reyes (nominee): 56.41%

  • David Leavitt (nominee): 41.68%

Congressional District 1:

  • Kerry Gibson (nominee): 56.98%

  • Blake David Moore (nominee): 43.02%

Congressional District 2:

  • Chris Stewart (nominee): 71.7%

Congressional District 3: 

  • John Curtis (nominee): 65%

  • Tim Aalders: 34%

Congressional District 4:

  • Kim Coleman (nominee): 54.55%

  • Burgess Owens (nominee): 45.5%

State Senate District 16:

  • Curt Bramble (nominee): 58.2%

  • Sylvia Andrew (nominee): 41.74% 

State Senate District 23:

  • Todd Weiler (nominee): 62.03%

  • Marci Green Campbell: 37.9%

State Senate District 25:

  • Lyle Hillyard (nominee): 57.58%

  • Chris Wilson (nominee): 42.42%

State House District 11: 

  • Kelly Miles (nominee): 77.27%

  • Elizabeth Carlin: 22.73%

State House District 29: 

  • Matt Gwynn (nominee): 72.73%

  • Sharlene Timmerman Pitman: 27.27%

State House District 54:

  • Mike Kohler (nominee): 59.65%

  • Randy Favero (nominee): 40.35%

State House District 71:

  • Willie Billings (nominee): 56.25%

  • Brad Last (nominee): 43.75%


Sonja Hutson covers politics for KUER. Follow her on Twitter @SonjaHutson

Sonja Hutson is a politics and government reporter at KUER.
KUER is listener-supported public radio. Support this work by making a donation today.